Flag ceremony for the newly-elected non-permanent members of the Security Council (2021-2022)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


You disliked this video. Thanks for the feedback!

Sorry, only registred users can create playlists.


Coronavirus: Description video

Watch the video “Flag ceremony for the newly-elected non-permanent members of the Security Council (2021-2022)” and like it!

Installation ceremony of the national flags of the countries of the newly-elected non-permanent members to serve on the United Nations Security Council for the term 2021-2022.

India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico and Norway

A flag Installation ceremony of the newly elected non-permanent members to the Security Council for the term 2021-2022 - Mexico, India, Ireland, Kenya, and Norway - took place today (4 Jan) at UN Headquarters.

Speaking to reporters, Ambassador Shri lndra Mani Pandey said, “India will be a voice for the developing world” and “will not shy away from raising our voice against the common enemies of humanity, like terrorism.”

He said, “peacekeeping, peacebuilding, maritime security, women and youth, especially, and conflict situations and technology with a human face, will receive our attention while on the Council.”

Ireland’s Ambassador Geraldine Byrne Nason said COVID-19 “will undoubtedly shape our time on the Council,” and added that “across the world today, we know that there are millions of people living in fragile contexts that risk being pushed over the edge by the nock-on effects of the COVID pandemic.”

Kenya’s Ambassador Martin Kimani said, “our mission will be innovative and open to new ideas and approaches, especially in strengthening prevention and regionally anchored solutions. We will listen. We will speak up boldly for Africa, for Small Island Developing States, for the Global South, and for all countries, great and small. Kenya will be an advocate for local and regional solutions. We will promote meaningful engagements between the Council and countries concerned, as well as result-oriented consultations with regional and sub-regional actors.”

Mexico’s Ambassador Juan Ramón de la Fuente Ramírez said, “we will uphold multilateralism, with a firm conviction that it is the cornerstone of the global order,” and added that Mexico “will promote the peaceful settlement of disputes and the right of nations to self-determination” and will “advocate a preventive diplomacy with a more effective multilateral mediation that includes relevant regional organizations.”

For her part, Norway’s Ambassador Mona Juul, said, “we are again ready to do our part to ensure the Council’s work and that it has a real impact on the life of the people the UN serves. International law and human rights will form the basis of our efforts. Peace, diplomacy, the inclusion of women, protection of civilians, and climate insecurity will be our guiding priorities.”

The Council’s five new non-permanent members terms will end on 31 December 2022.

Learn more: https://www.un.org/securitycouncil/content/presidency

UN Photo/Rick Bajornas

Under the United Nations Charter, the functions and powers of the Security Council are:

- to maintain international peace and security in accordance with the principles and purposes of the United Nations;
- to investigate any dispute or situation which might lead to international friction;
- to recommend methods of adjusting such disputes or the terms of settlement;
- to formulate plans for the establishment of a system to regulate armaments;
- to determine the existence of a threat to the peace or act of aggression and to recommend what action should be taken;
- to call on Members to apply economic sanctions and other measures not involving the use of force - to prevent or stop aggression;
- to take military action against an aggressor;
- to recommend the admission of new Members;
- to exercise the trusteeship functions of the United Nations in "strategic areas";
- to recommend to the General Assembly the appointment of the Secretary-General and, together with the Assembly, to elect the Judges of the International Court of Justice.

Liked the “Flag ceremony for the newly-elected non-permanent members of the Security Council (2021-2022)” video?

Share it with your friends!

Post your comment


Be the first to comment